Sympathy Card

Hello there!

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, but I just couldn’t get myself motivated to go make something.  Unfortunately,  today I had a reason to make a card.  I know, when can it be a bad time to craft?  It wasn’t the crafting that was bad, it was reason to create the card.   A friend of mine very recently experienced a sudden loss in her family, I feel so very sorry for her and wanted to show that I cared and was thinking of her and her family as they try to come to terms with the situation.

I always struggle with what to say at times like this and making a card that is appropriate is just as difficult.  I didn’t want to make it too bright and cheery but on the other hand I didn’t want it to be sad and depressing.  How do you show someone you care without making the situation worse?

Well I hope I got the balance right with this card.  I cased this card from Rachel Brumley, I mixed it up enough to make it original, I hope.

Sympathy card in Bravo Burgandy - JanI know it looks like Rich Razzleberry, but in fact I used Bravo Burgandy and Vanilla card stock.  I cut the little leaves sizzlit die from Stampin Up! in Always Artichoke, and had some old burgandy organza ribbon.  I used the Sizzix die 3D Flowers to make the flowers and the edgelits are from Stampin Up! too.  I added some vanilla pearls in the centre of the flowers and in the centre of the bow.  I used my new wooden bow-maker that I received for Christmas from my friend Sandra to make this double bow.  It really makes bow-making so very very easy.  Thanks Sandra, it’s one of the best presents I have received and I am sure I will get lots and lots of use out of it.

I like to decorate the inside of cards too but didn’t want it to be too busy as the front it busy enough.  This is what I came up with.

Sympathy card in Bravo Burgandy inside - JanClassic but simple don’t you think?  Can you see that I used some of the DSP behind the vanilla?  I hope my friend likes my card and finds the strength to move forward when the time is ready for her.  In the meantime I will keep her and her family in my thoughts and pray for the best for them all.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina

 

2 thoughts on “Sympathy Card

Leave a Reply

