2013 Diary in Pink Pirouette

Hello, hello

Well we have had an exciting 24 hrs here in little o’l Cairns.  We had cyclonic winds and rain, all night last night, although it wasn’t a cyclone, just the north side of the current low heading down the east coast of Australia formerly known as Cyclone Oswald.  I was awake from 2 am until I fell asleep sometime around 7 am.  No major damage luckily but I did have to go look for our wheelie bins because they ended up on the neighbour’s front lawn.

I have had a request from my DD #1 to decorate a new diary for her to have while at Uni this year.  She is a busy girl, studying full time, working part-time, involved in Uni activities, working out 2 hrs a day, and of course the most important part of her week, socializing…lol

I have made a altered diary for her in the past and she loved it so she asked for another one.  Her design brief is pretty predicitive, pink and Paris, as long as it has these two components she is usually pretty happy with the end result.

I took inspiration for the diary from a card made by Yvette Ashe, you can find the card here http://yvettespapergarden.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/artistic-etchings-birthday/.

This is how the diary turned out.

Cassie's 2013 diary in Pink Pirouette - JanI took a few close ups of the different images on the cover.

Cassie's 2013 diary in Pink Pirouette - close up 1 - JanI embossed everything in Early Expresso embossing powder, then daubed around it with Crumb Cake and added Dazzling Diamonds around the edges.  I coloured the roses in with Pink Pirouette and my blender pen and then added a pearl into the centre of each pink rose.  I tied a vanilla seam binding ribbon across the top of the diary.  I also added a piece of pink pirouette card stock with the glitter around the edges on the back of the diary too.  The scalloped square is cut from the new Fan Fair DSP from Stampin Up.

Cassie's 2013 diary in Pink Pirouette - close up 2 - JanI love the little pearls in the middle of the little butterfly.  I have a french inspired stamp set that I bought from the UK , it was just perfect for this diary.  All the images are from that stamp set.  I covered the front and back of the diary with Flirtatious DSP and then embossed Pink Pirouette card stock to go on top.  A lot of super sticky tape was used in the making of this diary.

Cassie's 2013 diary in Pink Pirouette - close up 3 - JanI wanted to replicate the roses I made on my Shabby Chic card from an earlier post, however, this one just didn’t want to co-operate and didn’t turn out quite as nice.  I’m not very happy with this flower, but I know Cassie will love it none the less, and its flatter than the other roses so its probably more practical on the diary.  Guess I just need more practice with making flowers hey?

I didn’t think the glitter added enough glitter for my girly girl so I added a swirl of diamentes to bling it up just that little bit more.

Well I hope you have enjoyed seeing my latest project.  I would love to hear your comments on what you think of it.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina

Leave a Reply

