Six-Sided Box

Hello there!

We have had a long weekend this weekend here in Queensland so I have taken the opportunity of a three day weekend to do a bit of crafting.

This project is one that I received an email for from Beth Beard and it’s called a six-sided box.  You can check out the tutorial on either Beth’s website “My little craft blog” or on YouTube.  I made a couple of mistakes before finally getting it right.  Although I followed the tutorial on how to make it exactly, the colour combination and decoration is all my own.  The one Beth makes in the tutorial is for Thanksgiving, which isn’t really relevant here in Australia.

Again, I have gone with the cherry cobbler, black and very vanilla combination.  I will have to take a photo of my shelf in my craft room that has all of these same coloured projects on it, the shelf is really looking good with all the coordinating projects.

Six sided box

 

Six sided box close up

 

This is a close up of the rosette with the clay rose in the middle.  Unfortunately I couldn’t get a really good photo of the detail of the clay rose, but you can see the glitter I sprayed onto the rosette using Isocol and champagne glimmer mist.

To make this box you use the mini milk carton die from Stampin’ Up!  I decorated the box with a retired DSP pack called Timeless Portrait and made a rosette from black and cherry cobbler cardstock.  In the centre of the rosette I put a clay rose, that I made from Stampin’ Up!’s new clay.  I dyed the clay rose with Very Vanilla ink so it would match the DSP.  I also used some non SU ribbon that matches perfectly with the cherry cobbler card stock.  No stamping on this project, this seems to be a habit I am starting at the moment.

This would make a great Christmas table decoration and can be filled with all sorts of goodies, like lollies, nuts, trinkets, or mini candy canes etc.

You could also make a name tag to go onto the box to put at your table settings for any occasion you may be celebrating.  Well as I have said I have been busy creating this weekend so I have a couple more projects to show you in the coming days.  Unfortunately I have to go back to work tomorrow so I won’t have too much time between now and Friday to make anything new, but I have plans to create again next weekend.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina x

Leave a Reply

