Card in a Box

Hi bloggers

Well it was back to work for me today… 😦 It has been a really slow day at work, which I hate, I much prefer to be busy at work.  Anyway enough with my grumbling I have a project to show you that I made this past weekend.

This project is apparently called a “card in a box”.  I got the tutorial for this from Monica Gale from the UK and it’s incredibly simple.  So simple that it surprised me actually.  It is a great technique to use to make an unusual Christmas card.

I used the Festive Flurries stamp set and matching framelits to make this “card”, and some more retired Christmas DSP to decorate the box.

There is a panel on the back of Whisper White card stock so you can write your Christmas greeting on.

Card in a box

 

See how cute it is.  I have taken a lot of photo’s of the different parts of this box.  This is how it looks when it is open, it folds pretty much flat so it’s not too difficult to post.

Card in a box close

 

For the centre piece of the card you use the large, middle and the smallest of the stamps to make the snowflakes and then cut them out with the matching framelits from Stampin’ Up!.

I used Cherry Cobbler and Gold ink to stamp the snowflakes.  Each snowflake has a vintage faceted button in the centre as well.

Card in a box close up 2This is the front panel of the box/card, I used the Merry & Type stamp set from Stampin’ Up! for the greeting.  I punched out the greeting and created a frame by punching out another frame in Cherry Cobbler.

Card in a box close up 3Unlike Monica I also decorated the two side panels of the box/card by cutting out two of the smallest snowflakes from the framelits in gold foil paper from Stampin’ Up!.

Card in a box close up 1

 

I also decorated around the bottom of the box/card with DSP too.

I have one more project from the weekend to show you so don’t forget to pop back again soon to see what it is.  I think it might actually be my favourite project from the weekend.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina x

 

Leave a Reply

