Homemade Plaster Heart

Hi friends,

As I said in a previous post I have been busy creating.  I have been looking at several blogs that are not specially Stampin’ Up! but have amazing work published.  I am always amazed at how wonderfully creative some people are.  I take so much inspiration from these types of blogs and love to try to replicate or in some cases even create my own similar design.  The second one isn’t always so easy for me, there really are some extraordinarily talented scrapbook and card making ladies out there.

This little project is one that I took the inspiration from one of the above mentioned blogs.  The original inspiration was made for the purpose of being name tags at a baby’s christening.  As I didn’t have the same need, I decided to just use the images as inspiration and created a general purpose item instead.

I am not overly happy with the shape of the love heart that I made from plaster because I used a cookie cutter as my mold for the plaster, however, I have found a chocolate mold online which I feel will give me more of a similar shape love heart to the original project.  I just need to purchase the chocolate mold and try again.  Stay tuned for more plaster hearts in the near future.

Nonetheless, I am still really happy with how this little plaster heart turned out.  I guess you could use it as a paper weight or just a decorative item.  They would also make lovely gifts for wedding bonbonnaire or favors.  I must admit playing with the plaster and painting with gesso got pretty messy but boy was it fun to do something different.

Plaster heart 1

 

As you can see there really isn’t any Stampin’ Up! products on this project.  The rose is one I made with the help of my friend Cheere Robinson and is made from Stampin’ Up! Very Vanilla card stock and is daubed around the edges with Cherry Cobbler ink.  I have painted the plaster heart firstly in Gesso which I coloured Vintage White.  I then added some washi tape and then sprinkled some Stampendous Frantage embossing powder and heat embossed it.  I love this stuff as it stays textured even after heating, unlike other embossing powders.  I also glued some pearl strings under the rose and added some liquid pearls.  Finally I wrapped some vintage vanilla lace around the sides of the plaster heart.  I also sanded the edges of the heart in an attempt to soften them.

Here is a close up of the details on the heart.

Plaster heart 2

 

You can see the vintage lace and frantage embossing powder better in this shot.

Remember to come back again soon as I have another amazing project to show you.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina x

Leave a Reply

