Posted in 3D Project, Other, Shabby Chic, Vintage

Shabby Chic Altered Box


Hi friends,

Well as usual, my “be back in a couple of days” has turned into a week or so.  Sorry about that.  I just don’t seem to be motivated enough during the week after working all day to sit down and craft and then post what I have done.  Sunday is usually my crafting day, where I can sit down and really get stuck into a project.

This Sunday was a little different in that I started off the day by popping in to the annual Christmas craft fete here in Cairns.  It’s a huge fete with lots of wonderful crafty things to look at and purchase AND it only costs a gold coin donation to the Leukaemia Foundation to enter.

I went along this morning with my friend Mel and got really inspired by some of the wonderful things on display.  I even purchased a set of three home-made fairy mushrooms for the garden.  They are so cute, they have bright red tops with white spots and look really good in my garden, although they weigh a tonne.  Apparently they are made from concrete and then painted with house paint.

Everything at the fete has to be either home-made or tools that can be used in the process of crafting.  So it’s a great place to see what all the wonderfully crafty women and men of Cairns have been up to over the year.  A couple of my friends and fellow Stampin’ Up! demonstrators are regular stall holders at the Christmas Craft Fete and I love looking at all the amazing items they have created to sell.

Well enough about the fete, today’s post is not about that, it is about this gorgeous shabby chic/vintage altered box I made.  I’m not going to go on about all the products I used as none of them are from Stampin’ Up! but as a wise man once said, “Man cannot live on bread alone”, and I think that applies to crafting too.   🙂

I love love love this box to bits, it really is the style that I love to create, unfortunately I usually have to use contraband (non SU products) to create this look.  I really wish Stampin’ Up! would have a regular shabby chic/vintage range in their annual catalogue with soft coloured/patterned DSP’s and matching vintage lace and embellishments.  Who know’s maybe next year they will.

Here are some photo’s of my box. I would love to hear what you think of it.  I really enjoyed creating this little beauty and can see myself doing another one.  I even learn’t some new techniques that I have never done before, and discovered some fantastic products that I can see myself using very regularly.

Vintage box

Vintage box topCan you see the clock at the back it is made with a special paint and a mask. I am loving this technique.

Vintage box close up 1

 

I have taken lots of close ups because there is a lot of detail on the top of this wooden box.

Vintage box close up 2

 

I didn’t make the big flowers but I did make the small pink rosettes.

Vintage box close up 3

 

Vintage box close up

 

Vintage box open

 

So basically I painted the untreated box and then went crazy with decorating the top and then added some matching DSP for the inside.

I have been busy crafting today so I will be back again very soon to show you what I made today.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina xo