Casing the Catalogue

Hi Friends

Well like many convention goers I usually come home from the annual Stampin’ Up! convention all excited about the up and coming new products and the opportunity to have spent three fabulous days with some very wonderful, creative people.

However, this usually also results in a creative slump when I do finally get home.  I tend to loose my creative moe-joe after coming back and it takes a good month until I am back into the swing of creating on a regular basis.

So this year to try and pick myself up out of this creative slump, I decided to do something different, something I have never done in the 5 or so years I have been using Stampin’ Up! products.

I CASED the catalogue.

I know a lot of people do this or they see something in the annual catalogue and take the idea and expand on it in their own style, but I have never felt the need to case anything from the catalogue before.

I’m not saying that the ideas displayed in the cattie are not worthy of being recreated or cased I have just never thought to do it before.

So a couple of weeks ago I really wanted to create something but had no idea where to start (that darn creative slump), so I opened my cattie and started looking through it for inspiration.  The best thing about card making and scrap booking you can find your creative inspiration in so many places.

In this particular case I turned to the new 2014-2015 Stampin’ Up! annual catalogue, and low and behold I found something that just took my fancy and I wanted to give it a go, although I have to admit it was hard to narrow it down to just one thing, there are so many fantastic projects in this new catalogue.

I decided to just duplicate the original as best I could, seeing as my only purpose to make this card was to get my crafting moe-joe back, and I think it has worked, I have been crafting pretty regularly ever since.

So do you want to see what I did?

Casing the catalogue - Everything Eleanor

I started with Whisper White card stock and stamped the swirl from Everything Eleanor stamp set in Crushed Curry ink onto it.  I stuck down a doily then cut out some banners out of DSP and stuck them on top.  The Apocathary Framelits were used to die cut out the Crushed Curry frame and the flowers (also from Everything Eleanor) were stamped in Midnight Muse, and Calypso Coral, the smaller one being stamped off first to get a light shade of the colour.  The bird (in Calypso Coral) and the flowers were all fussy cut out and stuck down.  Finally pearls were added to the centres of the flowers.

The original version of this card can be found on page 69 of the new cattie.  I would love to hear whether you think I did this card justice.  The new cattie has some amazing projects to inspire you and I am loving looking at them all.

So remember, if you temporarily loose your creative moe-joe and are struggling for inspiration how about turning to the Stampin’ Up! annual catalogue for some fantastic ideas.  You just might want to recreate them exactly as they are or add your own personal touch to them.

If you need a 2014-2015 catalogue then contact me today via email, just provide your name, phone number and postal address and I will post one out straight away.

Happy browsing.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

