Be My Valentine shaker card with a twist

Hi Friends

Well it’s still raining here in Cairns and I am still crafting….mmm I wonder if there is a connection there???

I found a fantastic tutorial on how to make a shaker card on Dawn Griffin’s website, you can find the tutorial here and decided to give it a go.  Dawn’s cards were Valentine’s Day cards, but since I had already made my husband’s card I wanted to do something different.

I decided to pull out another brand new stamp set, which coincedently is a Valentine’s stamp set and use it a little bit differently.  I ended up making a small note card which is only 4cm x 4cm, so it’s small and cute.

Be My Valentine - Shaker card frontI started with Basic Black card stock and added a mat both inside and on the front of Smoky Slate card stock.  The next layer on the front isn’t DSP as you might think, it’s actually another brand new product called Washi Paper.  I choose the Bermuda Bay Washi Paper to go on top of the Smoky Slate mat.  I do have to admit it is a little tricky to use but you get the hang of it after a little while.

The super cute little pirate and treasure chest was stamped in Black StazOn ink on the inside mat of Smoky Slate.  I used the Circle Framelits to cut out the circle on the front and added a Window Sheet that is popped up with Shaker Frames and I added some gold and silver sequins as little coins, a second Window Sheet was adhered on with dimesionals to close up the “shaker”.

This card was originally made as a practice card with the vision of making it in a larger size once I got the hang of it, but I am so happy with how it has turned out I think I will use it just as it is.  As you can imagine with all these layers and dimensionals this card is quite thick.  Therefore, I had to make a custom made envelope to keep it in.

Be My Valentine - envelope frontAgain, Basic Black card stock was used and a strip of Bermuda Bay Washi Paper was stuck across the bottom.  I stamped the pirate with Black StazOn onto Smoky Slate card stock and fussy cut him and his bursting treasure chest out.  I then added some more gold sequins (from our Gold Sequin Ribbon, but the way), just what every little pirate wants….a treasure chest full of gold coins.

I love reading your comments so please feel free to leave me your thoughts.

If you have any questions about this card or envelope just drop me an email and I will be happy to answer them.  All products are current and can be purchased via my online Stampin’ Up! shop.   Click on the shopping trolley to the left hand side and you will be taken straight there.  Please be aware alot of these products are available from our current Ocassions Mini Catalogue which will cease on June 30, so if you want to get any of these products I suggest you don’t hestitate.

Stay tuned because I have just spent a fantastic day at a special Stampin’ Up! event where we made lots of gorgeous projects that I just can’t wait to show you.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

