Baby We’ve Grown – Magic Card

Hi Crafty friends

So have you been keeping up with all my posts this week?  I am definitely on a roll at the moment.  I wonder how long it will last…lol

Last Sunday it was raining again, just for something different here in Cairns 🙂  So what better reason than to sit in my craft room and create.  Like a previous post I choose to use a fabulous video tutorial I foung on Dawn Griffith’s website.  You can find the tutorial here.

However, unlike Dawn I didn’t want to just make a traditional looking card I wanted to do something a little different.  Seeing as I spent all day last Saturday playing with some of the amazing new products currently available in the Ocassions Catalogue I wanted to keep using them.  Playing on Saturday has really whetted my appetite for crafting at the moment.  I’m sure my up up line Shannean Moncrieff will be happy to hear this as this was just one of her objectives for arranging the day.

Firstly, I started by pulling out my pack of Birthday Bash Designer Series Paper and cutting it up with the Mini Treat Bag Thinlits.  I knew exactly what I wanted to create but I have to admit the final project was the fourth attempt at it before I got it perfect.  Everytime I thought I had it right I started to construct it together and found I had made a mistake and had to start again.

Well persistence definitely pays off because on the fourth attempt I finally got it EXACTLY how I wanted it.  I love it when a vision comes to fruition.

Once I had die cut the Mini Treat Bag I then started working on the MAGIC part of the project.  I don’t want to spoil the tutorial so I won’t go into lots of detail, if you like what you see you can always pop on over to Dawn’s blog and follow the video tutorial yourself.

The image is from the Baby We’ve Grown stamp set currently available in the Annual Catalogue and was stamped with Black StazOn ink on Whisper White card stock.  Next I coloured the image in with my Blendabilities using Hello Honey, Bermuda Bay and Calypso Coral.  The greeting is from the Perfect Words stamp set and was also stamped with Black StazOn ink.

Once the card was assembled I cut out some stars using the Stars Framelits and Bermuda Bay, Calypso Coral & Hello Honey card stock and attached them to the front.

Baby We've Grown - Magic card front

 

I cut a square from out of Night of Navy card stock using the Square Framelits as well as punched out a Circle Punch in Night of Navy card stock too.  The Crop-o-Dile was used to punch the hole in the tab and I added some Whisper White Bakers Twine.

Well you’ve seen the front and I’ve told you how I made the card do you want to see the MAGIC???

Baby We've Grown - Magic card open

When you pull the tab the MAGIC happens.  What do you think?  I can just see my two little nephews going nuts over this card and trying to work out how it works.

Like I said if you want to know how to do this technique check out Dawn’s tutorial.

If your as impressed with this technique as I am please leave me a comment I would love to hear if you have used this technique and what you created or what you think about it.

All products are currently available from either the Stampin’ Up! annual catalogue or the Ocassions catalogue and can be purchased online through my Stampin’ Up! shop just by clicking on the shopping trolley to the left hand side.

Thanks for visiting.

Tina xo

Leave a Reply

